Fascinated with Stamps


I’ve been intrigued by postage stamps since I was a little kid. I remember where my dad “hid” the stamps in the back of this bill book. He always bought the boring ones — the ones with the American flag or birds. I always liked the really different ones, so now I look forward to going to the post office to see what kind of new, fun stamp I can buy.

I sometimes wonder why the fuss? They just get thrown in the trash anyhow. But if a pretty heart or a fun Disney character makes me smile while I begrudgingly send out all of my hard-earned money to the utility, the phone and the credit card companies, then it’s worth asking the postal worker to show me all the stamp possibilities so I can choose a stamp that suits me.

I actually don’t use as many stamps as I used to. I do a lot of bill-paying online. I’ll probably use even less once the postage rate goes up Monday to 41 cents.

forever-stamp-copy.jpgAlso starting Monday, the post office will sell new Forever Stamps for 41 cents. The new Forever stamps will always be good no matter how high the price of a stamp gets. I’ve thought about “investing” in the Forever stamps by buying one book of Forever stamps every time I buy a book of regular stamps. I’ll use the regular ones now and put the Forever stamps in safe place. Then when the postage rate goes up again (and it will) I’ll have a stockpile of stamps to use!

2 thoughts on “Fascinated with Stamps

  1. davidhitt says:

    I was at the post office Friday, and the guy ahead of me was talking to the counter person about the Forever stamps. They both agreed that the post office was probably issuing them betting that people really wouldn’t buy and save that many; that it was a feel-good thing the post office could do without really losing out on that much.

    That said, I’d be curious to see someone with a better financial mind than mine do a real analysis of it. Since the post office gets the money now and renders the service later, it’s essentially the equivalent of earning interest on the money in the interim.

    So if I paid 41 cents for a stamp now, and they stuck that 41 cents in the bank until I used the stamp, how long would I have to hang on to it for them to come out ahead, or how much would the rate have to increase for me to come out ahead? Certainly if people buy a bunch of them thinking they’re going to save them against a rate hike, but then end up using them before the rates go up, the post office comes out ahead.

Leave a Reply

