Isn’t It Ironic?


The daycare where my 4-year-old has attended since he was 6 months old has a policy (like most daycares) that you have to pay even if your child isn’t there. However, they also had — notice the past tense “had” — a policy that after your child had attended for one year you could take a one week vacation where you didn’t have to pay if your child wasn’t there for the entire week.

I never had the opportunity to use this benefit because we’ve yet to take an entire week off, and now it’s too late. Since the daycare has decided to close the week of Christmas, they are not going to charge parents for that week of care but will also not allow any other “free” week. Here comes the ironic part: the week after the new policy takes effect is when my oldest has a virus that keeps him out of school all week. I had to pay as if he was at school all week. If he’d been sick like this two weeks ago, it would have been under the old policy and I wouldn’t have had to pay for him this week.

I am not opposed to the policy of having to pay even when your child isn’t there and I am not at opposed to using the free week at Christmas. I just find it ironic that when I finally have the opportunity to use a “benefit” it’s not offered anymore. It’s like having expired coupons, especially a $5 coupon or a buy-one-get-one-free. (I hate it when I have expired coupons, by the way.)

Or, in the words of Alanis Morissette:

“It’s like rain on your wedding day
It’s a free ride when you’ve already paid
It’s the good advice that you just didn’t take
Who would’ve thought … it figures.”

Leave a Reply

