Letters to Santa


My 4-year-old informed me this weekend that we have to write “letters for Santa” before Christmas. I thought to myself that yes, he probably is old enough that we could sit down together and I could help him write  a few words for a Santa letter. But I came out of my thoughts to hear him talking about what letters he would write. “A, F, L, M, N, O, P,” he said. To him, “letters for Santa” was not a note to Santa but the letters of the alphabet!

I’m sure he’s never heard us use the word “letter” to refer to something we send or receive in the mail. His observations of what we get in the mail are probably bills, magazines and “junk mail.”

Leave a Reply

