Earth Day Musings


In honor of Earth Day I thought I’d write a “green” post.

I don’t consider myself to be a big Mother Earth, recycle, “green” person. However, I have to admit that lately I’ve been more interested in the green movement, perhaps a little selfishly though. Some of the “green” products that are out there are so cool, as are the things people are making out of recycled products. Today, for example, at the Earth Day event where I work they gave away free stuff like jar openers made of recycled tires and served soft drinks in cups made out of corn (the corn is made into a thin, flimsy plastic).

A few weeks ago I was impressed at the number of bottled waters saved when The Biggest Loser switched the whole show (cast, filming crew, everyone) to reusable water bottles and Brita water filters. I’m all into the reusable grocery bags now and bought two at my Publix store this weekend and received two free ones at the Earth Day event today. I started using Method all-natural cleaning products a few months ago and have been very happy with their cleaning power and love the scent of the Eucalyptus Mint Tub ‘N Tile cleaner. (Method is available at Target, btw).

I’ve recycled newspapers, plastic bottles and aluminum cans for several years now, too, but again for a little bit of a selfish reason. The large juice containers and milk jugs take up a lot of room in the trash can so by recycling them I have to take the trash out left often. But, hey, whatever gets it done right? And every little bit helps.

I have to give the folks at NASA kudos too for making the Earth icon on their web site a cool glowing green for Earth Day. Happy Earth Day!

Leave a Reply

