The End of the World As We Know It


I’ve struggled for days to come up with what to write here about kindergarten. If you’ve followed the last few weeks’ posts you know that we’ve been building up to Finn’s first day of school. Well, this past Friday was that first day.

After weeks of tearing up over just the thought of that first day, I actually didn’t cry. Upon leaving Finn in the care of his kindergarten teacher, my mouth felt really dry (as it does when I get nervous), my stomach was turning flips, and there were some tears welling up, but I didn’t give myself permission to let the tears flow. I thought that once I was back in my car I’d certainly break down. But no, actually I was fine. I quickly got back on task.

I was, however, a little emotional when picking him up that afternoon. He just looked so big and mature in the car rider line with all of the “big kids.” I wanted his first day to memorable for both of us, so we went to Dairy Queen where my dad would sometimes take me and my sister after school. We even picked up dad to go with us. “And there was evening, and there was morning—the first day.” –Genesis 1:5

Now Monday, his second day of school, was harder for me than Friday. First of all, my husband was dropping him off in the car rider line, so I worried about him being able to find the gym and find his class all by himself. Even my husband, who for weeks has said, “We’ve been doing this for years with daycare, no big deal,” was concerned about Finn finding his way all by himself and asked the girl in the car rider line to help direct him to the gym.

Several other things Monday just symbolize the closing of one chapter and the beginning of another. Riding in the car with only Caden was quiet, and I had the realization that this is how I will drive to work for the next 3 years: with just one child in the backseat. I paid tuition at daycare and paid almost half as much. Wow! I donated to the school the bed roll that Finn took his naps on for four years. “And there was evening, and there was morning—the second day.” –Genesis 1:8

Today, his third day, kinda felt normal, but rather a “new normal” that is still being defined. The first day of kindergarten, so it seems, just started a process that I continued on Monday and today and that I will slowly adjust to the rest of this week and maybe even the next few weeks.

Life, as I knew it, has changed.

Leave a Reply

