An Unlikely Lesson


I just finished reading “The Other Boleyn Girl,” and as strange as it sounds my other Boleyn girl experience has caused me to re-think my opinions on another book, “The DaVinci Code.”

The DaVinci Code is a pretty controversial book in the Christian faith with many Christians boycotting the book (and subsequent movie) because the plot centers around Jesus having a wife and a child. These claims about Jesus are of course not true, so some Christians took the book as heresy and were (rightly so) concerned that non-Christians or those immature in their faith would be confused by comparing Dan Brown’s story to the truth of the Bible. I, personally, felt inadequate condemning a book for reasons that I had only heard about through the media or other people, so I made the decision to read the book.

As it turns out, I thoroughly enjoyed the book, sometimes reading two or three hours a night. (The mystery that is the main plot made it hard to put down.) Also, I was not persuaded to believe any of the theories about Jesus having a secret wife and child.

Where The Other Boleyn Girl is relevant is that, like DaVinci Code, the book takes some known facts and embellishes the story with made-up content. In Da Vinci Code, I was able to discern between what was truth and what was fiction because I know what the truth is. I struggled with truth in Other Boleyn Girl because I’m not a history scholar and I have very limited knowledge of this period in history. Therefore, I had to trust that when the author said King Henry and Mary Boleyn had a daughter and son, that she’s telling the truth because without researching it, I really don’t know. Similarly, a person without substantial prior knowledge about Jesus might feel the same about DaVinci Code and place too much trust in the “story.”

Even with this new realization, I don’t regret my decision to read the DaVinci Code. I feel that a person who is not sure who Jesus is would be turned off by someone who condemned the book without having reading it and might be more open to listening to someone who wasn’t afraid to read it.

2 thoughts on “An Unlikely Lesson

  1. calluna says:

    Johnny, your review echoes a lot of what I was trying to say. Forest Gump and Titanic were great examples to illustrate your point. I’m still crushed that Rose and Jack weren’t actually on the boat.

Leave a Reply

