Music You Can Hold Onto


I think I embrace a lot of technology — this blog, for example — also Facebook, I have an mp3 player, and I got an iPhone a few months ago. We’re looking into purchasing a gaming system (can’t decide: Wii v. PS3) and considering blu-ray too (which the PS3 would also take care of).

Yet I’m just not ready to surrender completely to “data” that I can’t also hold. I’m primarily talking about CDs. I’ve warmed up to buying single mp3s, but if there’s an artist I like with a new CD out I want the actual CD for some reason. The new Taylor Swift CD, for example, I bought the day it came out at Target for $9.99. Pretty cheap, I thought. But today I saw an ad (on Facebook) to download the entire CD from Amazon for $3.99. I could have done that and saved quite a few dollars, but then I would have to burn the CD myself, label it, case it, etc. I’m not complaining about those extra tasks because I’m lazy but more to point out that my attitude toward digital music is flawed. I don’t have to burn the CD, label it, case it, etc. I just have to be content only having the “virtual” version on my computer, on my mp3 player, on my iPhone, etc.

It just illustrates how unready I am to let go of tangible music. Part of it is portability. I do not have the right doo-hickies to run my mp3 through my car stereo so I can’t listen to my digital music files in my car without killing my iPhone battery. Also, there’s not a super-easy way to transfer songs from my home iTunes to my iTunes at work. For these things a CD works nicely. I can play the CD in my car and rip it to both my home and work computers. So in that regard, a CD is more “safe.” It requires no new technology or learning curve of new technology.

It’s inevitable though and I’m working on not being so stubborn to change. SO, while not taking a total leap into the future, I have decided not to order the Matt Nathanson “Some Mad Hope” CD that I want but instead download the mp3 version. It’s $3 cheaper than ordering the hard copy, I can get it now and I save shipping costs! I have to confess though, that I only came to this realization after unsuccessfully looking for this CD in stores. Baby steps, people, baby steps!

One thought on “Music You Can Hold Onto

  1. Back when CDs came out, I was the last of my friends to stop buying cassettes and get a CD player. So I have tended to be slow to adapt to new music technologies. However, I adapted to the change to virtual music files a whole lot more easily than I ever would’ve expected. Receiving an mp3 player as a gift from a friend probably helped. I immediately loved the portability of it. Now though I’m not as keen on the next change to streaming music. Not because I don’t like the convenience of it, but because I don’t like the fact that the artists are getting ripped off by it. It’s ironic and surprising that now portable digital music files are going the way of CDs…

Leave a Reply

