Let Us Rap


lettuce-wrapsI am a very picky eater and as a rule don’t eat most things green. One exception to this is lettuce. However even with lettuce I’m selective at when I eat it. I only eat lettuce as part of a salad. I do not like lettuce on sandwiches, and I do not like lettuce on any warm foods like hamburgers or tacos, or taco salad even. So a week or so ago, when my husband first suggested I try chicken lettuce wraps at P.F. Chang’s, I wasn’t the least bit interested. Seasoned chicken sounded good, but wrapped in a big lettuce leaf? Why? Why not just eat the seasoned chicken alone with a fork?

So for last night’s date night (thanks to my mom who came and hung out at my house after the kids were in bed) we went to dinner at P.F. Chang’s and ordered lettuce wraps. I was very leery but took baby steps and tried a small strip of lettuce with a good-sized scoop of chicken and the “petal” sauce mixed by our server, Rose. I was surprised that I didn’t even taste the lettuce. As long as there was ample chicken and sauce to balance it out, I didn’t even notice the lettuce, other than it’s crunch, which I liked. I still don’t want to try lettuce on my burger or taco, but I’d consider making these at home sometime. They seem pretty kid-friendly too.

Recipe for P.F. Chang’s Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Leave a Reply

