An entirely adequate welcome to “Entirely Adequate”


I’d like to welcome my fellow tech writing grad student, Suzanne, to Blogs I Read. Suzanne is a former newspaper gal, like myself. I don’t meet too many people in my everyday life who know what picas are and how to use them. (Pica, pronounced with a long ‘i’ and a hard ‘c,’ rhymes with the name Micah.)

I love what she has to say about naming her blog “Entirely Adequate”:

“Entirely adequate” was a common newsroom compliment during my copy-editing days.

If you don’t think it’s a compliment, then you’ve never worked at a newspaper.

It’s also a bit of a mantra: Most things in life turn out to be entirely adequate, and that isn’t the worst thing you can ask for.

Leave a Reply

