Ten Years


Ten years ago today I met my closest girlfriends at the hair salon at 8 a.m. to get our hair done. At noon, we had lunch and helped decorate the church with bows and flowers and the reception hall with tulle. At 4 I donned my dress and posed for pictures. At 6 my dad walked me down the aisle and probably somewhere about 6:20, I said “I do.”

I didn’t think then what life would like 10 years later. On the one hand, it’s gone by in a flash. On the other … Wow, ten years! We’ve moved away and come back, had babies, finished college degrees, changed jobs numerous times. We’ve traveled to California, St. Louis, Chicago, Cincinatti, New Orleans, Indianapolis and Orlando. Maybe that’s why Washington DC seemed like the perfect anniversary destination, continuing our US cities tour.

Ten years. A drop in a bucket. But a significant milestone nonetheless.

2 thoughts on “Ten Years

Leave a Reply

