Happy 6!


Finn’s birthday was two weeks ago but I’m just now getting around to saying something here about it. His birthday was on a Monday but we celebrated all weekend long. We had a party for his friends on Saturday, celebrated with Hubby’s family on Sunday, took a cookie cake to the daycamp on Monday, and had dinner and more cake with my family that night. A typical birthday for our family!

What wasn’t typical was that I was sick that weekend. The morning of his party I was at the walk-in clinic getting a penicillin shot because I had strep throat. When we left the house for the party my fever was 99 — by the time we got home it was 102!

It was not an easy decision to go or not go to his party. I didn’t want to miss it and didn’t want Hubby to have to do the party all on his own. I couldn’t cancel because I had no way of contacting the 20+ kids we invited. But I also didn’t want anyone else to get sick. So I went but limited my contact. The kids were way too busy playing to be around me anyway, and I had Hubby serve any food so I wasn’t touching anything the kids would touch. My own kids didn’t get sick so I can only hope that no one else’s did either.

It’s hard to believe he’s 6. As I usually do on the boys’ birthdays, I pulled out the photo album from the day Finn was born and I can still remember it so vividly. As a kid, birthdays focus only on the child, and it wasn’t until I became a mom that I realized how special children’s birthdays are to the mom. I enjoy my children’s birthdays even more than my own!

Finn_6_c

Leave a Reply

