Mastoiditis


I don’t know a whole lot of details at this point but the report from the MRI came in late Friday and apparently Finn has something called mastoiditis. I was quite shocked because that wasn’t what I was expecting to hear. Even if there was something wrong I didn’t know this condition existed much less that it could be our problem.

The nurse gave me some very basic info and wikipedia filled in the rest: mastoiditis is an infection and/or inflammation of the mastoid bone behind the ear. It’s caused by chronic ear infections or untreated ear infections. That part makes sense because Finn had lots and lots of ear infections as a baby and has had three sets of ear tubes.

So the person to treat this is his ENT (ear nose and throat doctor). The doctor who ordered the MRI is going to forward the results to that doctor and get us an appointment as soon as possible next week.

I asked if they could tell how long he had had this? Answer: no, there’s no way to age it.

I asked if the doctor thought this was what was causing his headaches? Answer: Mastoiditis can cause headaches so it’s possible.

I asked what are the treatment options? Answer: antibiotics or surgery, depending on how bad it is.

I wish I’d asked how bad it was because if not treated early enough it can definitely lead to some bad things. I’m of course concerned about what it may take to get this fixed. I’m also concerned that this might not be the cause of this headaches, which even if it’s not I’m glad we’re finding out about and can hopefully treat it before anything bad happens. It’s just that we’ve been having bad headaches for nearly a year — does that mean he’s had it for a year? If not, then what does this have to do with his headaches? I don’t know. Too many questions. Hopefully we’ll get some answers next week.

Leave a Reply

