My Rainbow in the Clouds


I walked out to leave work today and saw the most gorgeous rainbow ever.

I remember a similar rainbow from my childhood, but it had been a while since I’d seen one so bright and from end to end. And like a lot of people the rainbow brings to mind the story of Noah and the promise to never destroy the Earth by flood again. But in addition to remembering that promise, a rainbow signifies to me that God has given us all kinds of promises and He keeps all of them.

Have you ever noticed that the Scriptures say the rainbow is not actually for us but for Him? He says “I will remember” (v. 15) and “I will see it and remember” (v. 16). It seems so “human” that He made for himself a reminder.

Genesis 9: 13-17

“I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth. 14 Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds, 15 I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life. 16 Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.”

17 So God said to Noah, “This is the sign of the covenant I have established between me and all life on the earth.”

I borrowed (ok, stole) the photo from my co-worker who had his own things to say about rainbows here.

Leave a Reply

