Love Song for a Savior


This is one of my favorite Jars of Clay songs of all time. It’s from the Jars of Clay self-titled album, released in 1995. But I know it from the vinyl, released in 1997, which I won from a Christian radio station. I loved every song on the album (it’s the one with their mainstream hit “Flood”), but Love Song for a Savior really resonated with where I was at the time.

I was a freshman in college and had recently been dumped by my high school boyfriend. I was in that phase in life where I was figuring out who I was, what I wanted to be, what I wanted to study, and where my life was gonna go. For the first time in life I was making all my own choices. I was living on campus so my parents weren’t telling me where to go, when to be home, when or what to eat, when to study, and so on. I was experimenting with my new found freedom, but was also still following pretty much all of the same rules I’d grown up with. I stayed out later and went new places, but I didn’t lose my head and become some wild party girl.

As I pondered all of these things in my heart, I struggled with not being in a relationship. From the first day of first grade I have had some sort of love interest, even if that love wasn’t reciprocated. I didn’t think the high school boyfriend was “the one” (I once had a keyring that said ‘I’m not looking for Mr. Right, just Mr. Right Now), but I had no other prospects that I was interested in (or that were interested in me). I was kinda exasperated with pressuring myself to have a boyfriend, to have someone to date, and had pretty much reached my limit.

I prayed over it, searched for answers, and expressed my frustrations. What God told me was this: let it go. Let. It. Go. He said focus on the present, focus on where I was and what He wanted me to be doing right then. Where was I? College. What was I supposed to be doing? Going to school, getting my degree, preparing for my career. Was I supposed to be fretting over a boyfriend or a future mate? No. He told me, basically, to do what I was supposed to be doing (what He was directing and opening doors for me to do) and the rest would take  care of itself.

So I did. It was a little hard to really, really let go. But He was there opening doors, offering reassurance, carving out my path. How restful it was once I truly, truly surrendered my life, my future, to Him. He took care of me in ways I never imagined. I believe it was my faith in His promise — that if I just did the things He wanted me to do right then He’d take care of the rest — that ultimately led to blessings beyond measure in my career, my spouse, my future. And he’s still honoring that today — if I stay rested in Him, He will take care of the rest.

This song reminds me of the girl I was and the desires of my heart back then.

One funny note. In the last verse, the lyrics are “Seems too easy to call you Savior, not close enough to call you God” — I thought the words were “not close enough to call you dad,” which still work and work even better (for me).

In open fields of wild flowers
She breathes the air flies away
She thanks her Jesus for the daisies and the roses
In no simple language
Someday she’ll understand the meaning of it all

He’s more than the laughter
Or the stars in the heavens
As close as a heartbeat
Or a song on her lips
Someday she’ll trust him
And learn how to see him
Someday he’ll call her
And she will come running
Fall in his arms, the tears will fall down
And she’ll pray

I want to fall in love with you

Sitting silent wearing Sunday best
The sermon echoes through the walls
A great salvation through it
Goes to the people who stare into nowhere
Can’t feel the chains on their souls

He’s more than the laughter
Or the stars in the heavens
As close as a heartbeat
Or a song on her lips
Someday we’ll trust him
And learn how to see him
Someday he’ll call us
And we will come running
Fall in his arms
The tears will fall down and we’ll pray

I want to fall in love with you

Seems too easy to call you Savior
Not close enough to call you God
So as I sit and think of
Words I can mention to show my devotion

I want to fall in love with you

Leave a Reply

