Sermons


My co-worker and fellow blogger shared this article with me in which the columnist challenged people, in the new year and the new decade, to look at a few things through fresh eyes. The writer listed 52 suggestions, one for every week of the year. This week’s topic is Sermons.

Originally from @MarkMatlock, and retweeted by @ThinkChristian

“So much of preaching is not about finding the new, but reminding people of what is already known, but too soon forgotten.”

I love those kind of sermons — the ones that remind me of something I already knew but just needed reminding of. Or the ones that show me a new way of applying something I already knew. They are very affirming, and as someone who struggles with resting in what I know I need affirmation from time to time. After such sermons or lessons in small group I often find myself saying, “Duh! You knew that!”

Leave a Reply

