80 Something


My co-worker and fellow blogger shared this article with me in which the columnist challenged people, in the new year and the new decade, to look at a few things through fresh eyes. The writer listed 52 suggestions, one for every week of the year. This week’s topic is Octogenarians.

“You’re gonna get out of here, you’re gonna go on and make lots of babies, and you’re gonna watch them grow. You’re gonna die an old lady warm in her bed …. Promise me you’ll survive. That you won’t give up, no matter what happens, no matter how hopeless. Promise me now, Rose, and never let go of that promise.”

When I think about being old I think about the scene near the end of Titanic where Rose, as an old lady, dies. The camera pans around her room and there’s all these pictures from her life, of all the things she did. I even talked recently about that scene and about some of the events in my life that will be in the picture frames in the room when I die. That visual to me is so strong. When I reach the end of my earthly life I want a room filled of pictures symbolizing all the life I’ve lived, not a room filled with empty picture frames.

Bonus: Given the topic of this week, stumbling across this essay intrigued me. It was written in 1938 by then-17-year-old Edmund N. Carpenter. Edmund died in 2008 at the age of 87.

Leave a Reply

