Sing a Song


My co-worker and fellow blogger shared this article with me in which the columnist challenged people, in the new year and the new decade, to look at a few things through fresh eyes. The writer listed 52 suggestions, one for every week of the year. This week’s topic is Singing.

I love to sing, always have, always will. I sing in the car, at home, in my head. I love singing at church, the old hymns, praise & worship music, all of it. I sang my first church solo around 7 years old, and over the years I sang in school and church choirs with the occasional solo. Today, I sing for Him and for me, and if you ride in the car with me sometime maybe for you. I like to listen and sing along to pop, rock, country, Christian and the occasional nursery rhyme or lullaby. I have an uncanny ability to remember tunes and lyrics. I know all of the words to Ice, Ice Baby, the theme song to the Fresh Prince of Bel Air, and so I learned this week, I still know every word to Paula Abdul’s Straight Up.

I can’t imagine life without singing and hope I never have to. Even someday when my vocal chords give out and my singing voice has that little-old-lady garglely tremble, I will still be singing if not with my voice, in my heart.

Leave a Reply

