Thirty-One


I’m so behind on so many things I want to blog, so bear with me if I go back in time the next few posts to catch up.

Last month I hosted a Thirty-One party at my house. My friend Julie from church just started selling Thirty-One bags as a consultant. In fact, I was her first party. I’ve always been hesitant to host such parties because people are always too busy to come or not interested. So I was tickled when so many people came out! Several women from work, including a few new work friends, and nearly all the girls from my Sunday School/small group came. A few Bunco friends made it too. About a dozen or so of us total.

I didn’t realize until the party that the company is a Christian company, and the name “Thirty-One” comes from Proverbs 31, The Wife of Noble Character. Julie read part of the Proverbs 31 passage and did an activity where everyone wrote on a card, with my name on it, one word to describe me. Everyone had very kind things to say, and it was such a boost to hear positive impressions of me from my friends and peers. I have the paper hanging in my cubicle at work, and on a bad day or in a low time I’ll glance at it for a little pick-me-up.

The Thirty-One bags, by the way, are awesome. Their distinctiveness is in their fun yet sophisticated patterns and their monogramming. I was eligible for several discounted and free products and ended up with a large tote bag (the “Cindy” bag) with a cursive “H” monogram, the Albany purse (which I love!) with my full monogram — HRS — and a lunch tote with just the “H.” The party was a success with many orders, helping Julie out and giving my friends and coworkers cool bags. It was also a successful girls’ night out. My friends from church stayed several hours talking after everyone else had left, and we’ve since started a monthly girls night for our group as a result. Everyone also seems very happy with their orders!

“Many women do noble things but you surpass them all. (Prov. 31:29)”

One thought on “Thirty-One

Leave a Reply

