Spring Has Sprung


My co-worker and fellow blogger shared this article with me in which the columnist challenged people, in the new year and the new decade, to look at a few things through fresh eyes. The writer listed 52 suggestions, one for every week of the year. This week’s topic is signs of Spring.

When I left town in early March for spring break, the plant life in my yard was still brown from winter. When I returned home the blooming cherry trees in my front yard were pink! I was so amazed at how fast things changed. I was gone just one week and came back to a noticeably different place. The funny thing is, Spring happens just that quick every year but I never notice it. If I had been home that week and had observed the slow and gradual transition it might not have stood out to me as much.

Everyone knows Spring time is beautiful, but not everyone takes the time to notice it or to let it speak to them. If you take a moment to stop and see it, the beauty of Spring is so refreshing both visually and spiritually, to know that something so beautiful can come from something that just recently was brown and withered and by all outward appearances “dead.”

The emergence period though is short-lived. This gorgeous pink tree for example, six weeks later, is just green leaves. It’s blooming period is so short. Blink and you’ll miss it and the blessing that goes with it.

Leave a Reply

