Another 100 Miles From Memphis


I bought Sheryl Crow’s new album 100 Miles from Memphis Tuesday when it came out. I’d been looking forward to it for months. It’s a tad bittersweet, of course. John introduced me to Sheryl Crow,  she was his favorite artist, if we ever had an “our song” it was one of hers, we saw her in concert twice. Her music is packed with memories of him and us. Not all of it, but can’t not think of him on some songs, some albums. I’m most sad though that he didn’t get to hear it.

I don’t yet know how I feel about it, if I like it or love it or feel “eh;” don’t know which my favorites are, etc. It will take a few more listens to figure that out. There’s quite a few covers on it which at first disappointed me but even those are kinda growing on me with each listen. I need to listen to it many more times, and I’ll come back with a full review in a few weeks.

Leave a comment