What’s Goin’ On


I’m excited to be going to the Miranda Lambert concert here tomorrow night. I’ve been listening to what music of hers I have for the last few weeks, and have several favorites I hope she plays — White Liar, Only Prettier, Time to Get a Gun, Gun Powder & Lead, Sin for a Sin, Love Song, I Just Really Miss You, Airstream Song, and of course The House That Built Me. The House That Built Me has to be a gimme for the show since it’s so hot on the radio right now. I’m meeting a good friend there and also looking forward to the concert being outdoors. It’s been ages since I’ve been to an outdoor concert. I’m looking forward to relaxing in a bag chair and hearing great live music at sunset and then under the stars. I’ll let you know how it goes!

New Bible studies started at church a few weeks ago and I was torn on which to take. They offer like 8 but I quickly narrowed it down to two — Financial Peace University or Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman’s Soul. One friend asked, “well which one do you need more right now?” and the answer was I wasn’t sure. There’s a lot of financial matters I’m having to deal with right now so Financial Peace seemed fitting for that. But Captivating is all about feeling loved and valued and important as women and understanding that God made us with those desires. Those things seemed like something I could use right now too. So I walked around torn for a week or so trying to figure out which one. One possibility was to take one class “officially” at church and do the other on my own, now or in the future. The weekend before classes started I found Captivating for $4 less than the church was selling it for so went ahead and bought it to use either way. The next day during worship service I was praying for God to reveal which class I needed most right now and take away any second-guessing or doubt. He said (not audibly but in my Spirit), “I gave you the book yesterday for $8, didn’t I?” I grinned. Good point, Lord. So that was His revealing. After service I went to serve in my nursery class. The woman who works with me asked which I class I was taking — so far I’d told people I was torn between Captivating and Financial Peace, but this time I didn’t have to say that. “I’m taking Captivating,” I said. “Me too!” she replied. That, was His affirmation.

I started reading So Long, Insecurity: You’ve Been a Bad Friend to Us this week having realized more and more that I apparently really do have a problem with that. I’m only two chapters in so far but already some thought-provoking stuff. More to say on that later I’m sure.

Also,

I’ve decided I want a red iPod nano just because it resembles a Target logo. I’ve thought that ever since I first saw it and have wanted to want one for a long time, but now I may actually do it.

One thought on “What’s Goin’ On

  1. Dani says:

    I was just reading the latest post and wondered how the concert was on Friday night. I also wanted to let you know that the red iPod is the greatest. I bought it a little over a month ago and it is great. I hadn’t thought about the Target resemblance until this posting and looking at it now I see what you mean. It also donates money to an Aids charity organization when you buy it from Apple. Of course you might be able to find one on Craig’s List cheaper.

    Think about you often and I am really enjoying your blog. It is my first to follow.

    Dani

Leave a Reply

