Happy Birthday ?


Today is my best friend from high school’s birthday.

Last year we both turned 30, and I sent her a card, being 30 and all, kind of a big deal. I’ve sent cards other years too but I’ve not sent cards consistently in the last few years. I had the thought to send her a card this year but I didn’t take the time to get one. We’ve grown so far apart emotionally that it doesn’t feel sincere, it feels for show. Which is extremely sad because we were so close in our younger years, and we’ve let life and bad decisions and hurt feelings come between us. It feels like all we are to each other now is what we used to be.

I’ll probably write something on her Facebook, which feels cheap because that’s what everyone does nowadays.

But then I’m just part of the “everyone” now, right?

Leave a Reply

