You are looking at the person responsible


This sticker is on the mirror in the bathroom at work.

I saw it today and the person looking back at me had a mad look on her face. I was mad at the time (it happens, right?) and I had reached the point where I was mad at myself for being mad. Do you ever do I that? I do. All the time.

And as I stood there looking at the hardened look on this woman’s face, I thought to myself, β€œYou are not only looking at the person responsible for your safety, this person is responsible for everything. Your attitude. Your actions. Your moods. All of it. This mad-faced woman is responsible for how you feel right now — upset and disappointed and hurt. She’s the one doing this to you, not anyone else. Are you going to let her do that?”

I’d like to say I walked away telling the woman in the mirror, β€œNo, I will not let you do that to me,” but I didn’t. I was still upset. But I did leave the mirror with an awareness that I am in control of my feelings, my reactions.

I want a sticker on my bathroom mirror sticker that says “You are looking at the person responsible for your attitude mood feelings reactions choices you.

One thought on “You are looking at the person responsible

Leave a Reply

