Pets are Cute!


My co-worker and fellow blogger shared this article with me in which the columnist challenged people, in the new year and the new decade, to look at a few things through fresh eyes. The writer listed 52 suggestions, one for every week of the year. This week’s topic is pets.

I’m way far behind on this series so I was supposed to be writing about pets like three months ago. The interesting thing about this series is how quickly perspective can change things. Subjects I wrote about earlier this year I now think differently about because life and my perspective is different. If I wrote them today I would most certainly write something different.

Pets is one of those topics. If I wrote about it three months ago when I supposed to according to the one topic a week timeline I might’ve written about pets I had as a kid and the boys’ desire for a pet and that struggle. But now we have Rocket. Now I’m a pet owner so my view on pets is transitioning. So two weeks into this whole guinea pig adventure, how do I feel about pets? They’re cute. And cuddly. And assuming Rocket’s squeaks are happy squeaks, his squeaks are cute. He’s cute when he eats lettuce or carrots and it’s cute watching Finn hold him. Did I mention he’s cute?

A pet is extra work but so far Rocket hasn’t been too much. Pets are added responsibility but a contained pet like a guinea pig is easier than some pets would be. A pet with kids adds a different element to it than “just” a pet because I’m having to watch the kids and the pet rather than one or the other, and having to teach Finn and Caden how to hold and care for an animal and what not to do. There’s added expense and time involved but, again with a guinea pig it’s pretty low-key. So far, the pet ownership experience this go ’round is pretty good.

Leave a Reply

