Winterluded Out


I went to my 5th Winterlude the other night, and while I highly anticipate it every year this is the second year in a row that I left rather disappointed. And really the year before that I left feeling bad too but that was because I had a migraine.

Now don’t get me wrong, the piano playing was spectacular. Of the selections played, the performers played amazingly well. I took piano off and on for 8 years and during that time played a few duets so I can appreciate how much talent and practice came into play for the musicians.

But Β — and please forgive me if I sound a little whiny — they didnt play my favorite songs. Last year, they didn’t play like 1 or 2 of my favorites. This year they didn’t play like 4 or 5 of my favorites. In fact, no song they played this year had I “wanted” to hear. I know they can’t cater the performance to me, but the songs missing are classic Christmas songs and ones they played the first two or three years I went. That’s how they became my favorites because I heard them at Winterlude and oohed an ahhed over them then.

On the way home after the concert I told this to David who was like, “So what songs didn’t you hear that you wanted to hear?” “The Snoopy song (The Peanuts theme), Carol of the Bells, Gloria, Jesu Joy of Man’s Desire, …” and I was just getting started. So he sweetly pulled the Snoopy song up on his iPhone and played it for us. We laughed, and it was a fun moment.

We met David’s parents and one of his brothers at the concert, which was nice to interact with them again and for them to get to know me and the boys better. After the performance, we were leaving and I went to walk past David’s mom at the same time she went to walk and we bumped into each other. She turned around, “Oh, so sorry, glad it was you and not someone else.” That’s a little thing but it made me happy that even with what little interaction we’ve had that I’m not just “anyone” to her but someone she is comfortable enough with to not be embarrassed bumping into.

One thought on “Winterluded Out

  1. Shannon H. says:

    I, too, missed the Carol of the Bells. The snoopy song I can understand why they didn’t play it. The Hanging of the Green was “Merry Christmas Charlie von Brown”.

    I have been thinking of your family often, your in my prayers. I wish you, the boys and David have a wonderful Christmas!

    I enjoy reading your blog.

    Shannon

Leave a Reply

