Truth Serum


I’m overwhelmed.

I’m overwhelmed in my job search. Having a job I enjoyed to go to every day was a very stabilizing thing for me, and as the reality of being (temporarily) unemployed has sunk in I’ve started to feel the effects.

I’m overwhelmed in my relationships, some of which are strained by my feelings about the job situation.

I’m overwhelmed because it’s coming up on a year since John died and I’m dealing with the emotions being brought to the surface as part of that.

God is speaking to me through Priscilla Shirer’s study “Jonah: Navigating a Life Interrupted” that a group of us ladies from church are doing together. He’s not just speaking, He’s rocking my world in a big way.

He’s speaking through other books I’m reading for help too, like Kay Arthur’s When the Hurt Runs Deep: Healing and Hope for Life’s Desperate Moments.

He’s speaking through his Word which I have been making a point to read first thing when I wake in the morning. Instead of grabbing for my iPhone and reading the latest news on Twitter or Facebook, I wake up and grab my Bible and read Scripture.

He’s given me opportunity in the last week or so to escape and just rest, even if temporarily, to build up strength for what’s ahead, whatever that may be.

I’m scared and overwhelmed but continually giving it over to him and trying to take care of myself with whatever I need at the moment.

Prayers are appreciated.

It feels good to be honest.

2 thoughts on “Truth Serum

Leave a Reply

