See From Heaven


“Did daddy ever see me get to be Gamer?” came the question from the 5-year-old in the backseat.

I had to think about it.

“No, you weren’t a Gamer last year so daddy didn’t get to see you be a Gamer.

“But,” I continued, “some people believe that people in Heaven can see things happening here on Earth, so maybe your daddy got to see you be a Gamer from heaven.”

Five-year-old: “Do you believe that?”

Hmm … I had to think. I thought I had protected myself from having to weigh-in one way or the other by saying “some people believe” and leaving it open for interpretation. I wasn’t getting off that easy this time apparently.

“Yes,” I replied. “I believe people in Heaven can see good things that happen on Earth and I believe your daddy got to see you be a Gamer.”

Now, why do I believe that? I mean it sounds good and all but is it Scriptural or am I just telling myself and the 5-year-old the thing that makes us feel good? Well, as I alluded to yesterday, I’ve been reading Randy Alcorn’s book on Heaven, which is chocked full of Scripture references about heaven, so through Alcorn’s book and the verses he’s referencing I’m getting a clearer picture of what the Bible says about life after death.

I believe our Heavenly Father watches us, and while being in Heaven will be all about Him and praising Him and so on, if part of his interest is those of us down here then I think those with Him would know that. If our Heavenly Father loves us so much that He’s watching little Caden play Tball one Saturday afternoon, why would He not invite Caden’s dad to watch with Him, ya know?

Some say that when you’re in heaven you won’t care about things down here because things up there will be so wonderful and will be all about God. But that makes it sound like people in heaven are in some sort of hypnotic trance walking around like zombies unaware of the life they once lived on earth and the people they knew. I don’t think that sounds quite heavenly either. That sounds awful to forget that you had a wife and sons and a mom and a sister and friends. It’s clear in Scripture that we will be able to recognize people in heaven, both those we knew on earth and those we never knew (like Moses or Elijah). Maybe we just won’t be sad about it because our understanding there will be much greater than it is here.

I believe that people from Heaven can see at least some of the events on Earth because it says the saints rejoice when a new believer accepts salvation. Also, the current Heaven is not the New Heaven that Scriptures refer to as having no pain and sorrow. The New Heaven will not be created until after earth as we know it has been destroyed, after the rapture, tribulation, end of times, etc. As long as there is a sinful earth there will be pain and sorrow in the world. Those in the current heaven may not be aware of all of it, I honestly don’t know to what extent, but I believe they are aware that earth is still here and that the New Heaven has not come and are anxiously waiting, with the rest of us, for that day to arrive.

I’m not a theologian. I may very well be wrong. But I also see no harm in believing my sons’ father can — and does — see them from afar.

One thought on “See From Heaven

  1. Johnny says:

    Hebrews 12:1 says we are surrounded by a great cloud of witnesses – all the saints that have gone before us (like those listed in chapter 11) – and because of that we should “throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.” As Twila Paris once put it, there are “millions before you, cheering you on.”

Leave a Reply

