Sense of Humor


In 2010, I started my “Refresh” project, inspired by an article in which the columnist challenged people, in the new year and the new decade, to look at a few things through fresh eyes. The writer listed 52 suggestions, one for every week of the year. I finished most of those but got derailed towards the end of the project. I have just a few more to go and want to see it through. So, this week’s topic is your sense of humor.

My sense of humor is very reality-based. That sounds pretty boring and very un-funny, doesn’t it?

But what I mean is, I like laughing at life, particularly laughing at myself and my friends and the crazy, silly blunders of life.

I like humor that is clever, like puns and plays on words and double entendre.

I don’t like cheap humor. My boys will double-over laughing at what I call bathroom humor, and I just look at them like they’re loony because I don’t get why bodily functions are funny.

I don’t like crude humor that uses offensive words or terms. Impress me by being funny without all that. Anyone can say a bad word. Show me you can be funny without all that.

The things I find the most funny are the ones that I can relate to, especially humor about motherhood, because let’s face it being a mom has a lot of hilariously funny moments. Motherhood has a lot of moments that if they don’t make you laugh you might just cry and I’d choosing laughing over crying any day.

When I was younger I knew something was really funny if I laughed so hard my cheeks hurt. Now, older and two vaginal births later, it’s really funny if it makes me have to pee.

Oh my, did I really just make a joke using bathroom humor?

Ok, so maybe some bathroom humor is funny.

But please don’t tell my boys.

:)

Leave a Reply

