Morning Quiet Time


I have been reminded of your sincere faith, which first lived in your grandmother Lois and in your mother Eunice and, I am persuaded, now lives in you also. — II Timothy 1:5

For a while now I’ve had a renewed morning quiet time with the Lord about 5:30 every morning.

Finn, who is a morning person like me, will occasionally wake up that early to play on the computer before school.

One particular morning last week, I was awake and sitting up in my bed reading my Bible and journaling when I heard Finn get up. I noted the time in my journal as 5:42 a.m. He sleepily walked into my room and said, “I had a feeling you would be up.”

I smiled.

Good, I thought.

A precious memory from my childhood was waking up in the mornings and finding my mother already wake and reading her Bible or praying. I didn’t appreciate it as much then as I probably should’ve, but I appreciate now the memory and the example she showed.

Mom always woke up before we did and was showered and dressed, often with makeup on and having already done her Bible readings and exercises for the day. I’ve not been that kind of mom so far, at least not consistently.

In my defense, I’m a much younger mom than my mom was at the time that these memories were made for me. I am the age now that my mom when I was born. My memories of mom’s early morning quiet times are mostly from my teenage years, although I’m not really sure how long mom had been having that early morning quiet time with the Lord and I just didn’t notice.

Waking to mom hunched over in her rocking chair praying is a precious memory for me. It is a great example that my she lived out, and I want to do the same for my sons. I’m not trying to live now just for the memories later — my early morning time with God is not about creating memories for the boys, it’s all about time with Him. In fact, Caden is such a late sleeper He isn’t even aware that I’m up that early much less what I’m doing, so it may be a while before he knows or sees that.

But someday I hope he and Finn will remember that their mom loved God and woke up early each day to spend time with Him. I hope they’ll receive that as both an example for themselves to live by, as well as a testimony to my faith, not so I’ll be thought more highly of but just as an encouragement to them. I hope they’ll do the same out of joy and desire in their own personal relationships with Him. And that they’ll remember back and be encouraged by “that’s what mom did.”

Leave a Reply

