Rightly Renewed


I experienced a miracle this past weekend.

I had a bad attitude about receiving John’s Navy commendation, and I had wrestled with my attitude for the whole week leading up to it. The Navy was a point of conflict for us, and I was not as supportive as I should’ve been. I often felt like the Navy took him away from me, so to now be asked to receive an award for an activity that I felt had come between us was not something I wanted to do.

After wrestling with my bad attitude for a few days prior, I woke up the morning of the ceremony and prayed Psalm 51:10, particularly the second part:

Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me.

It wasn’t immediate, I believe because I wasn’t totally willing yet to let go of my bad attitude. I wanted it gone but was still hanging on to it too. Whenever I felt it creeping up I would just say that second portion again — renew a right spirit in me.

By the time the awards ceremony was to begin, I felt some better. I was still just a little bit conflicted but much improved attitude over where I’d been.

The miracle came when, later that day, I wanted to take the award and accompanying ribbon to show members of my family who couldn’t be at the ceremony. And then the next morning I wanted to take it to church and show friends in our small group. I wanted to blog about it. I had the thought that I should take pictures of the medal and certificate and type up the inscription and mail to several of John’s colleagues who would be interested to know. I recognized these things immediately as God doing just what I had asked of Him — He was giving me that right spirit and actually inciting in me extreme pride!

I shouldn’t be surprised, really. I had faith He was going to do it. I just didn’t know what Him doing it would look like. I didn’t imagine Him filling me with overflowing pride but that’s just what He did. I know that I know that I know it was God doing it because there is no way I was going to get there on my own.

“And whatsoever ye shall ask in my name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.” John 14:13

Leave a Reply

