A Bucket List, Of Sorts


sberries

I have a bucket list. I don’t really think of it as a traditional bucket list of things to do before I die. It’s more like a list of things I want to do while I’m living. To some, that may sound like the same thing, but, to me it’s very different. If I don’t get to do these things before I die that will be no big deal. But I figure as long as I’m living I might as well seek out a few things that I might especially enjoy.

Most of them involve travel. One of my long-time bucket list type items was to go to Washington D.C., which I did a few years ago. Unfortunately — or maybe fortunately — going to the nation’s capital only made me want to return and to explore it further, for a longer period of time and in more detail. If I never make it back, I am glad that I was able to see the monuments for myself, to go in them and to have my own reactions and memories. I loved seeing Lincoln in his chair and appreciating just how large that statue is. It was a thrill to go inside the Washington Monument and to look out over the city. I loved the Japanese cherry trees surrounding the mall, although they weren’t in bloom while I was there. That’s one of the reasons I want to go back: to see the pink cherry tree blossoms for myself.

A long-standing desire is to visit the Hershey chocolate factory in Hershey, Pennsylvania. I’m pretty sure this idea came from the opening scenes of Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory. The movie imagery of rolling ribbons of liquid chocolate and thick chocolate fudge being stamped into chocolate kisses interests me greatly. I want to see it in person, and smell it and taste it too!

Most recently I’ve added to my list the desire to go to a strawberry festival. It just sounds fun. I imagine an old Farmer’s market/ county fair environment with everything you can imagine made with or from or for strawberries. Fresh-picked strawberries, chocolate-covered strawberries, strawberry cheesecake, strawberry lemonade, strawberry wine, and maybe a large vat of strawberries like in that I Love Lucy wine-making episode where you can stomp around barefoot in strawberries. Doesn’t that sound fun? I think so. As a little girl I loved Strawberry Shortcake toys, especially their strawberry scent! I imagine a strawberry festival would smell just like that but magnified by a million!

My list is very “unofficial” in that it exists in my mind and is pretty dynamic. It is unique and original and may not include some of the same kinds of things as everyone else. I mean really, who puts Washington D.C. on their bucket list? Or a chocolate factory or strawberry festival? Some people visit those places or do those things all the time and aren’t moved by it or don’t care.

But that’s the beauty of my list. It’s uniquely mine.

One thought on “A Bucket List, Of Sorts

  1. No! Your bucket list is *perfect*! Well, I mean for _you_! Isn’t that what a bucket list is all about? It doesn’t need to make sense to anyone but you! I lived near Washington (on the Maryland side) for better than 30 years and worked in DC for six years. And I *miss* it! I loved taking the kids into town on the weekends and exploring all the marvelous culture and the zoo and the museums! And cherry blossom time is the best. :)

Leave a Reply

