Steeple Chase


20120612-214316.jpg

This is the story of how I fell in love with steeples.

I was downcast and hurting when we pulled in to the church parking lot one night. The steeple was illuminated and caught my eye. There was such hope in seeing the brightly lit cross towering above in the dark winter sky.

That was roughly six months ago, and that’s when “steeple chase” began.

I started to take notice of other steeples and notice their designs and their differences. Some had crosses; some didn’t. Some church buildings didn’t have steeples at all, which I also found to be rather peculiar. Apparently steeples are becoming harder and more expensive to maintain so some churches aren’t adding them to their rooftops anymore. Also, the trend in multipurpose buildings as churches has caused a decline in steeples on church buildings.

20120612-214306.jpg

Steeples have been historically a way of letting people in the community know where to find the church. But today, people find out about churches by searching the Internet (also church signs and word of mouth). Does that mean steeples areĀ  becoming irrelevant? I hope not. I see steeples as signs of hope, like it was for me that night, and as a significant relic of religious architecture.

The sight of the cross has many times encouraged me; other times it’s humbled me. And other times still it’s resulted in impromptu encounters with God where He has spoken or moved or given me a gift, like dew on roses. All of this I would have missed if it weren’t for the visual reminder of the cross and all it means.

20120612-214252.jpg

Leave a Reply

