Less is More


Week one in the Rocket City Bloggers year long blogging challenge: What Do You Need More Of Right Now?

20130403-222850.jpg

I don’t need more.

I need less.

I don’t need more money.

I don’t need more time.

I need to use the money and time I have more wisely.

I definitely don’t need more “stuff.” I need less stuff. I’m tired of living amongst “stuff” and cleaning up around stuff and cleaning the stuff itself, ya know? I’m tired of tripping over stuff and stepping on stuff and having to move stuff just so I can find a place to sit down or to cook or to _____ (fill in the blank).

I’m not a hoarder, by any means, but I do live amongst “stuff.” Please someone out there give me an “amen,” that I’m not the only one.

They say that you’ll fill the space you have. If you find your home to be too overcrowded with stuff, so you move to a larger home to accommodate all your stuff, you’ll end up just as overcrowded because you’ll acquire new things … as well as keep the old things.

It’s for this reason that I want my next house to be smaller than my current one. I want to be forced to get rid of stuff. I want to be forced to make the difficult but necessary decisions about what’s important. What do I keep, what do I toss, what do I donate. When I go through a purge like this I find that a lot of my stuff I don’t even care about. It’s just there.

What a waste.

I don’t need more.

I need less.

And I need to use what I have better.

5 thoughts on “Less is More

  1. I totally agree with you on this. Over the last few years, I find I am so uninterested in “stuff”. I don’t want to have to look after it, clean it, trip over it, etc. If it’s not functional and/or beautiful, than out it goes! Unfortunately, that’s easier said than done, so it’s still a work in process. Slowly but surely, I will get there!

Leave a Reply

