Workin’ Out


20130522-102824.jpg

I joined a gym, and for the first time in a long, LONG time am actually serious about not just losing weight but being healthier.

Caden’s first grade class studied the human body a few months back and he learned about the heart. This prompted a conversation about heart attacks and whether not I was going to have one.

Now, you have to understand that once Caden learns about a potentially bad thing he is afraid of it. It’s why he doesn’t like to fly or doesn’t want to go on a cruise boat. He learned on TV that sometimes there are crashes or accidents an knowing that has made him afraid.

Similarly, learning that you can have problems with your heart made him a tad fearful of that too.

He asked me at bed one night if he could have a heart attack. I told him I thought it was pretty unlikely given his young age and no family history, no heart problems and that he was active and exercised.

So he asked if I could have a heart attack. Um, well, I dunno … maybe? I’m young and no family history, but unlike Caden I don’t exercise and I don’t eat healthy consistently.

His concern, as well as just general displeasure with being overweight and with huffing and puffing after just three flights of stairs, gave me the motivation I needed to go for it.

A great new gym was just built a few miles from the house and they have a child’s playroom that the kids LOVE!. One day, I had done a class for an hour and then went to get them from the play room. They begged me to go workout some more that they wanted to stay longer. Having them go with me and not complain about being there has been a HUGE motivator to go and to keep going.

So far I’ve only lost a few pounds because getting my diet figured out has been a challenge. Working out makes me hungry! And eating the right stuff has been an adjustment. I can tell my endurance improves every time, so even if I’m not seeing the numbers plummet just yet I know it’s making a difference.

My motto is to just move. Because my job and my hobbies are fairly sedentary I don’t move enough. I’ve tried the 10,000 steps a day programs and on a good day I might hit 3,000 because I do a lot of sitting. Sitting to write, sitting to read, sitting to knit, sitting to sew, to watch movies, and so on. So going to the gym and just spending the entire time moving is something. While I’m on the treadmill or elliptical I read or watch movies so I’m not really sacrificing my hobbies to add exercise, which is another motivator.

My goal is to go up the three flights of stairs at work without being totally winded at the top. Also to improve balance and flexibility, flatten my poochy tummy by strengthening my “core,” and train to run/jog/walk a 5K. The trainer tells me I can shed 60 pounds and 3 sizes and get my BMI in a healthy range in 6 months to a year depending on how much I work out and well I control my diet.

Sounds good to me. I’ve been going at for a month and will have an evaluation of how I’m doing in about 2 months. More to come then! Wish me luck!

One thought on “Workin’ Out

  1. Awesome! I hope your trainer is adding some weight training to your workout, too. You’ll get faster results and stronger bones!

Leave a Reply

