Social Listening


I’ve acquired a new skill at work.

Actually, a skill I’ve always had has a new name, a name that sounds better than oh, being nosy or reading the Internet.

This new skill is “social listening.”

I had never heard of the term until several months ago but it describes well a very valuable asset that I bring to the table at my job and other areas in life too.

So what is it?

Well, it’s listening to the world around you by reading, monitoring, observing all the “noise” and gleaning the usable parts.

The cool thing? I love doing it, I’m a natural at it, and it’s pretty much something I’ve been doing my whole life just without the fancy name.

In my career story of how I became a writer I tend to start the story around 10th grade when my English teacher asked me to join the high school yearbook staff. It had a little to do with my ability to write a good essay so seems like a good place to start, and being on yearbook staff in high school certainly set me on track for a career in communications.

But what shaped me to be able to write a good essay by 10th grade was more than just education or a natural knack or God-given talent, though all of those are there too; it was that I loved reading. And not just reading books β€” although I read a lot as a youngster and still do β€” but reading periodicals.

I enjoyed reading newspapers and magazines and learning interesting things about the world around me. I would clip out articles about a new can design from Coke or some other new attraction or product … I was social listening, listening to the world around me, which at that time was a world in black and white, in print. Today’s “world around me” is via a screen and there’s so much to listen to, but there are amazing gems if we make it a priority to not just hear but listen.

I’ll be honest too, I have a little help β€” there’s lots of tools out there to help with this, right? Google alerts, hash tags, services.Β  Those are good and I use some of them.

But my best social listening has been just paying attention with good old fashioned investigative reporting, with a natural nosiness, and with time. Not a lot of time, but a little time dedicated to actually reading what comes through on the Twitter feed and having my ears perked up in all the listening situations, whether I’m reading, listening to radio or TV or mingling/networking.

Social listening is two things to me:

Fun β€” Like I said, I’m kinda good at it. I desire to know breaking news, to know new things and to share them, and social listening fits that to a T. It’s the satisfaction of learning about something, being the first to tell someone else, and then seeing them react and get excited too.

Valuable β€” This stuff works. I have story after story of good things that have started or happened because I heard about something, shared it with the right person and they were able to act on it or make good use of the information.

So there you have it. Social listening. Who knew?!

Leave a Reply

